
Timestamp What is your name?What is your Team Number?What is your Question? Be as specific as you can. Referee Answer

9/7/2024 11:16:38 Hiyu Takahashi 9040 What are the spike marks for? I assume it is for the auto but didn’t get what it 
indicates. Basically nothing -- just for pre-match setup of pre-placed Samples.

9/7/2024 11:17:15 When scoring a specimen, does the clip need to be firmly attached, or can it 
just be balanced on the bar? According to Section 10.5.2, it just needs to be fully suported by the bar.

9/7/2024 11:17:25 Tom 4153 How many specimens can a robot control at once? One according to rule G410

9/7/2024 11:17:28 Nathan Yang 15157 Could you elaborate on how the human player could help during autonomous There are no Autonomous-specific allowances for Human Players. Anything 
a Human Player can do in Teleop, they can do in Auto.

9/7/2024 11:18:44 Jorge 16400 When doing the ascension could we still hold on to the low rung and high 
rung in order to help hang on the bar and not fall off? [1]

You may, but be sure to read and understand section 10.5.3.If you're holding 
onto both rungs, the best you can get is a Level 2 Ascent

9/7/2024 11:20:24 Felix Li 51
While you are beggining to hang, can you be touching both the high rung and 
low rung, or do you have to be completely suspended by the first rung to 
begin touching the second rung?

According to 10.5.3 condition C, you must be fully off the ground before 
touching the High Rung.

9/7/2024 11:17:41 Boyi Zheng 24006 Can you hang a specimen facing inside, the block is facing towards the 
center?

There are no rules about the different ways you may hang a Specimen for it 
to count, just that it must be fully supported by the Chamber. (Section 10.5.2)

9/7/2024 11:17:44 Morgan 3526

Can you intentionally hit robots off of the rung outside of the last 30 seconds 
or is that a penalty? If it is a penalty, how do you determine the difference 
between accidental and intentional? Is there no protection rule-wise for 
hanging robots?

Contact with a robot that's attempting to Ascend outside of the last 30 
seconds is not inherently a foul. However, this behavior would likely run afoul 
of one of the Gracious Professionalism Rules: G201 "Be a good person", 
G210 "Do not expect go gain by doing others harm", G421 "This is not 
combat robotics" or G422 "Do not tip or entangle"

9/7/2024 11:17:55 Ashley lang 13277 Are there requirements regarding how the team number sign is fixed to the 
robot? Ex: can I use tape

The number sign must be "robust"ly fastened to your robot, so that it will not 
fall off during gameplay. See Section 12.4

9/7/2024 11:18:11 Milo 21525 When hanging a specimen, does the clip need to be fully attached? See Row 3

9/7/2024 11:18:15 Jason Zhu 23929 Do you get a penalty if you are in the ascend zone during teleop? How many 
points are deducted if so? No foul for being in your own ascent zone during Teleop.

9/7/2024 11:18:22 Is there a height limit for the robot, both “unextended” and “extended” Not during gameplay. All robots must start under 18 inches tall. See rule 
R104.A

9/7/2024 11:18:22 Audrey Tran 21982 Can you repeat what you said hanging specimens on the walls of the field The Human Player may introduce Specimens into the field by hanging them 
on the field barrier. See figure 9-15 for an example.

9/7/2024 11:18:23 Jiwon Jung 49 what happen if human player wasn’t able to clip the black thing correctly on 
the specimen and it falls while the robot is moving before it hangs it up

That kinda sucks. There's no fouls, but now you no longer have a Specimen, 
you have a Sample.

9/7/2024 11:18:44 Nicolas Abetong 49 Can a specimen be scored in the baskets, or can they only be scored on the 
chamber?

According to section 10.5.2, Specimens scored in the Net Zone or High/Low 
Baskets have no score value.

9/7/2024 11:18:46 Emmet Nugent 22472 Is there a height limit for the robot? See Row 13

9/7/2024 11:18:47 Hiyu Takahashi 9040 If a vertical expansion robot falls, and becomes horizontally too long, is that a 
penalty?

Technically, yes. Practically, this foul is likely to be waived by your referees, 
unless you fell over in a way that obstructs the opposing alliance.

9/7/2024 11:19:00 Hanna 9040 Is there a penalty if the robot is touching the top of the low Rung but is above 
the low rung entirely

There is no Foul, but you will only recieve points for a Level 2 Hang 
(assuming no other Ascent Constraints from 10.5.3 are violated)

9/7/2024 11:19:32 Joe Becerra 25813 What is the discord? See https://socalftc.org/links/: https://discord.gg/RrKMknf

9/7/2024 11:19:52 Suri 21982 Can you place all the clips on all the samples before autonomous is over? Or 
is there a limit to how many samples can become specimens.

That is not disallowed, although you'd have to somehow obtain the Samples 
during Autonomous. Also note that only Alliance-Specific Samples can 
become Specimens. (9.7.3)

9/7/2024 11:20:01 Can you score while hanging? That is not disallowed.

9/7/2024 11:20:01 Joaquin 19866 Can the robot carry more than one specimen or sample at a time? See Row 4

9/7/2024 11:20:51 Aslan Does my robot need to ascend from the low rung to the higher rung 
uninterrupted? Or can I ascend to low descend and ascend again?

There is nothing in section 10.5.3 that requires an uninterrupted ascent. Note 
that if you hang from the Low Rung, then detatch and go do your own thing, 
when you approach later you still must be off the ground before you touch 
the High Rung.

9/7/2024 11:21:15 Samantha 4625 Are there any auto-specific points teams can earn? According to section 10.5.4, no.

9/7/2024 11:21:29 Nicolas Abetong 49 If there are many specimens on the wall, and your robot accidentally controls 
them while trying to pick one up, is that a penalty? Yes, according to rule G410.

9/7/2024 11:21:45 If the robot balances on top of the Low Rung, does that count as suspending 
from it for the purposes of ascending to the High Rung?

Yes, balancing on top of the Low Rung would meet the definition of Level 2 
Ascent as defined in 10.5.3.

9/7/2024 11:21:56 Pratush Agrawal 23929

When testing the horizontal limits, is it possible to shift the box based on 
different configurations of the robot's extension? if the robot can extend past 
the limit from both   sides, can they stay within limits by extending the front 
side while reclining the back side, and vice versa?

(Good Question!) No.The extension limits are relative to the robot's point of 
contact with the ground. During inspection, when we test that the robot does 
not exceed 20" by 42", the robot's points of contact with the ground may not 
change. 

9/7/2024 11:22:12 Where can you find the game manual? https://www.firstinspires.org/resource-library/ftc/game-and-season-info

9/7/2024 11:22:34 Hiyu Takahashi 9040 Do clips count as a game object for the possession limit? Rule G410 only calls out Samples and Specimens, and does not mention a 
posession limit for clips

9/7/2024 11:23:50 Carlos 24006 How many clips can a robot control??? See Row 31

9/7/2024 11:24:06 Ryan Perrige 19866
Is the human player allowed to communicate with the coach or drivers during 
the round if they want to know when they want to be specific about the 
specimen or sample they want to play 

There are no rules about communication during a match, although note that 
G302 specifies that you can't bring communication equipment -- no walkie-
talkies.

9/7/2024 11:24:06 Does the starting material have to be your color or can it be a neutral color? The Manual does not specify, so assume that your preloaded element can be 
either.

9/7/2024 11:24:34 Morgan 3526
Can you intentionally hit robots trying to hang outside of the 30 second 
protected section? If not, how do you determine that a hit is intentional or 
accidental?  Is there any protection for hanging robots (rule/penatly-wise)?

See Row 9

9/7/2024 11:26:21 Tommy 19516 Say you have an intake. Similar to last year’s game, if you grab more than one 
game element can you spit it out without penalty?

See Rule G410, exception C. Last year, the posession limit was 2, so it was 
reasonable to control more than one. This year, the posession limit is 1, so 
sucessfull teams will likely design a robot that cannot hold more than one 
element.

9/7/2024 11:26:33 If you mess up ascension and touch the top rung too early. Can you lower 
yourself and start over to get the 30. This is not explicitely stated in the Manual -- I think the answer is Yes.

9/7/2024 11:26:42 Nicolas Abetong 49 Can you hang with an opposing robot on the same rung? You must hang on your own alliance's designatee rung -- see 10.5.3 
condition A.

https://www.firstinspires.org/resource-library/ftc/game-and-season-info
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9/7/2024 11:27:59 jiwon jung 49 can we puck up the specimen that fell from those bars? That is not disallowed by the manual, as long as it's your own Alliance's 
Specimen. (Opposing Alliance's Specimen would be a Foul under G411)

9/7/2024 11:28:00 Emmet 22472 Are 2 robots able to fit on the same rung? Yes, the rungs are 48" wide

9/7/2024 11:28:35 Can you knock off opposing specimen from the bar? No - see rule G412.

9/7/2024 11:28:39 David 26504 Does the scoring during auto count again in teleop or it will only score once?
Section 10.5 says that accomplishements are scored at the end of each 
match period. A element scored in Auto will count again in Teleop, if nothing 
else changes.

9/7/2024 11:29:07 How much time is allowed to coordinate with your alliance prior to the 
match?

That is not limited by the Competition Manual. You may spend as much time 
beforehand talking with your partner as you wish, as long as you arrive on-
time to Queuing (aprox. 3-5 minutes before your match, dependent on the 
event)

9/7/2024 11:31:59 Jiwon Jung 49 is there any penalties if the black hang separate from the block and fall in the 
ground?

The Competition Manual does not mention any Fouls for the situation 
described.

9/7/2024 11:31:59 Can you ascend using the chambers? No - See section 10.5.3 A

9/7/2024 11:32:20 Mr. Udo 11337
If you suspend on the Low Rung before end game, are you then free to hang 
on High Rung once end game starts? Or do you have to suspend both times 
during end game?

There is no limit on when you can Ascend. The only rule that is end-game 
specific is the protections around interference in the Ascent Zone.

9/7/2024 11:32:55 Boyi Zheng 24006 Can you attach two clips to a sample and hang it by one of the two clips? This is not dissallowed by the Manual.

9/7/2024 11:33:03 Boyi 24006 How many clips can you put on a sample (pls read very important) [pls] The manual does not specify a limit.

9/7/2024 11:33:20 if your specimen hangs on the rung and is later knocked loose and falls, are 
those points lost?

See section 10.5 scoring. The Specimens are scored at the end of the match 
period, so that Specimine will not count.

9/7/2024 11:33:59 Milo 21525 Can you access elements in the submersible from all directions or can you 
only access them from one side [2]

This is not specified in the Manual -- you can assume there are no 
restrictions.

9/7/2024 11:35:19 Avriel Once a human player puts down a piece can they pick it up and move it 
assuming the robot is not in the observation area Yes -- there are no restrictions on this other than G433 "No Yeet"

9/7/2024 11:36:35 Boyi 24006 Is swerve legal? This is not specified in the Manual -- you can assume it to be legal, as long 
as it meets the other construction rules in Section 12

9/7/2024 11:36:57 Can you affix multiple clips to a sample See Rows 47/48

9/7/2024 11:37:38 morgan 3526 if you accidentally attach to a yellow sample can you take it off? does that 
fall under the rearranging elements rule

Yes. Note that unlike last year, there is no rearranging elements rule. 
Rearrange as much as you want.

9/7/2024 11:42:37 Hiyu Takahashi 9040 Can a robot do the clipping? There is nothing in the Manual preventing this.

9/7/2024 11:43:01 Boyi 24006 Can we clip 2 sample together to create 2 specimens with one clip
I don't think the Clips work like that, but if you somehow did, that wouldn't 
inherently be a Foul. Note that if you then have two Specimens, you robot 
cannot control those two Specimens without violating rule G410.

9/7/2024 11:44:22 Nathan Yang 15157
since both robots are clinging onto the same cube what if your robot is 
already on the bar (during the protection period) and the other robot goes to 
get on it and it shakes the

The Sub is pretty stable. Each Alliance must Ascend on a different side of 
the Sub. Some shaking/vibration of the rung is to be expected, and a robot 
should be able to hang on during this.

9/7/2024 11:45:13 Jason 23929 If you drive in the accent zone during teleop and not endgame will you be 
penalized 

The only rule around the Ascent Zone (G427) speifies that it only applies 
during the last 30 seconds of the game.

9/7/2024 11:46:03 Boyi 24006 What’s your favorite type of cheese? All your region refs agree: Pepperjack



[1] Responder updated this value.

[2] Responder updated this value.


